Close

Staying Safe with Messages

We created Messages with the intent to help you further your creativity by engaging with other people using VSCO.

 

It is very important to us that you feel safe when using Messages. For that reason, when we created this feature we designed it with safety in mind so that you would have full control over who can send you private messages. That's why direct messaging requires a mutual follow relationship: our messaging feature is designed to limit spamming and unwanted communications and users will only be able to message one another when they follow each other. Additionally, our messaging feature does not allow users to send images or videos that have not been publicly posted on our platform.

 

If you have any concerns while using Messages, please tap on the Options icon Options_lge.png in the top right corner of the message to find the options below.

 

Leaving a conversation

Leaving a conversation will temporarily remove that conversation from your list of messages. If you do not block or unfollow the person that you left the conversation with, they will still able to message you and re-open the thread.

Another option to stay safe on Messages is to unfollow someone as they are only able to message you if you are following them.

If you do not want to be messaged by someone you can unfollow them. To unfollow a user, you will need to visit their profile on VSCO, tap on Options_lge.png in the top right corner, and tap on 'Unfollow.'

 

Blocking a user

Blocking a user will end the relationship between you and another person on VSCO. For more information, visit Blocking on VSCO.

 

Reporting a user

Our Trust & Safety Team is here to help. If you encounter inappropriate content on VSCO or a thread makes you feel uncomfortable, let us know by clicking the "Report" button on the app or contact us through the Help Center chat window and we will get back to you to provide you with support.