VSCO Spaces is a place to connect with your creative community. Whether it’s sharing a new piece you’re working on, getting feedback from a trusted mentor, or simply trading tips with a friend, your community is what keeps you going. Now, it’s easier than ever to connect with that community on VSCO.
Safety is a critical aspect of maintaining a healthy community, which is why it was at the heart of how we designed this feature. Spaces are invite-only groups, capped at 15 contributors to make them safe places to learn, workshop ideas, and foster creative discussion. Owners of a space can moderate who can view and contribute to their space, while contributors and viewers have the ability to report anything they come across that may violate our Community Guidelines.
Participation in discussions is limited to contributors only and the experience is focused around the image first, discussion second. It’s up to you whether you want to view and engage in the conversation.
Here are some tips to stay safe while using VSCO Spaces:
Follow our Community Guidelines
Make sure you review and follow our Community Guidelines at all times when using Spaces. When you interact with users, always make sure you are careful about sharing any sensitive or private information about yourself with others. If you come across someone or see behavior that is against our guidelines, you can report them as described below.
Reporting a user
Our Trust & Safety Team is here to help. If you encounter inappropriate content in a space or a discussion that makes you feel uncomfortable, let us know by clicking the icon either the space, post, or response and selecting the report option. You can also contact us through the Help Center chat window and we will get back to you to provide you with support.
Moderating a VSCO Space
Along with the ability to report content, space owners have the ability to moderate their own space. This means owners have the ability to delete any posts or responses within their space that are inappropriate in order to help maintain a safe environment. Each space owner plays a key role in ensuring the safety of VSCO Spaces and a great creator experience by actively moderating their spaces.
Adding/removing a user in your VSCO Space
Our invite process was designed with your safety in mind. Owners are in full control of who is admitted to their space as a contributor via their invite link. In order to become a contributor in a space, a user must receive an invite link from the owner to request to join. Once the user requests to join the space via the invite link, the owner must accept the request to allow that user to become a contributor.
You can invite a user to your space by clicking “Copy Invite Link” on the Contributors page and sharing it with who you would like to add. You can accept or deny any request to join by clicking either the + or trash can next to a profile name under the Requests section of the Contributors page.
Owners also have the ability to remove users from being contributors in their space. Removing a user from your space will end their ability to post or respond. This does not prevent the user from being able to view the space - if the removed user still has the link they will be able to view the space by accessing it via the link.
You can remove a user from your space by clicking “remove” next to their profile name on the Contributor’s page.
Blocking a user
When you block someone on VSCO they won't be able to follow you, favorite your images, or publish your images to their collections. You won’t be able to follow them, favorite their images, or publish their images in your collections.
Blocking a user does not prohibit them from being in a space with you, but it does prevent them from viewing, joining, or requesting to join any of your owned spaces. Blocking a user that is already a contributor in your space will remove them. For more information on how to block someone check out this article.
Leaving a VSCO Space
As a contributor, you can leave a space at any time for any reason. To leave a space, navigate to the Contributors page and click “leave” next to your profile name.
Leaving a space will permanently remove it from your list. While you will still be able to view the space you will no longer be able to post or respond. In order to gain access back to those features you will need to request to join the space and be admitted by the owner.
If you have any issues or questions, feel free to reach out to our Trust & Safety Team via the chat box in our VSCO Help Center.